Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running spring jobs remotely (on grid) - serialization issues

Hello,
    I'm new to spring batch. I am trying to use ProActive Scheduling in order to execute a Spring batch job on a cluster managed by ProActive.
    In order to do so I took a look at org.springframework.batch.core.partition (I run the job defined in {spring_batch_home}/src/test/resources/org/springframework/batch/core/partition/launch-context.xml and it is working just fin in multi-thread)

Now I want to modify the org.springframework.batch.core.partition.support.T askExecutorPartitionHandler#handle method in order to execute the stepExecutions remotely, on my grid. In order to do so I need to create some executable objects (one per StepExecution) and send them remotely to the "slaves".
    So the code executed on the remote "slave" would contain sometging like
    step.execute(stepExecution);

The problem is that the TaskletStep (the implementation provided for the Step interface) is not serializable so I cannot wrap it into an object in order to serialize it and send it over the network. (on the other hand the StepExecution object is serializable).

Therefore I need a serializable implementatoin of Step in order to implement the usecase described in the documentation :
    http://static.springframework.org/sp...ioning-spi.png

Could anyone tell me if my approach is correct (am I not seeing something) or if there is a serializable implementation of Step that I did not find.
    Or am I just on the wrong direction?

Thank you,
    Emil Salageanu