Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forward value from Step to Step

Hi all,

I'm new in Spring Batch and I'm wondering how it is possible to forward some values from a Step to another one.
    I think it's possible using the execution context but is it the only (and/or the best) way to do it ?
    For example, I'm doing a job that gets some data from a DB as a list of complex objects. Then I'm parsing this list, doing some transformation on my objects before calling writing them in another table.
    I'd like to divide this process in different steps, so, how can I forward my list of objects from a step to a second on ?

Thanks in advance for answering me,
    Bye.
    Last edited by Zico; Apr 6th, 2009, 12:04 PM.

Zico,

From what I understand from your example, you can do all the work in a single step by specifying an itemProcessor:

Code:
    <beans:bean id="myStep" parent="simpleStep">
        <beans:property name="itemReader" ref="myItemReader"/>
        <beans:property name="itemProcessor" ref="myItemProcessor"/>
        <beans:property name="itemWriter" ref="myItemWriter"/>
    </beans:bean>
    Now, to answer directly your question, you can promote values from step-to-step by declaring a promotion listener:

Code:
    <beans:bean id="promotionListener" class="org.springframework.batch.core.listener.ExecutionContextPromotionListener">
        <beans:property name="keys">
            <beans:list>
                 <beans:value>key1</beans:value>
    	<beans:value>key2</beans:value>
            </beans:list>
        </beans:property>
    </beans:bean>
    Where key1 and key2 are keys to value in the executionContext.

Then, add the above promotionListener to the listeners property of the step that you want to promote from:

Code:
    <beans:property name="listeners">
        <beans:list>
            <beans:ref bean="promotionListener"/>
        </beans:list>
    </beans:property>
    Good luck!

- Gino

Comment