X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• should I consider spring batch?

I am completely new to Spring Batch but am considering using it along with/quartz to oversee batch processing of XML files.

XML files need to be converted from XML to domain objects and then persisted using Hibernate.

The basic process I have in place is
    1. Gets a List of XML files to process from a directory
    2. For XML file, convert it (using jdom) to a domain object (which requires calls a DAO to set certain properties)
    3. Persist the domain object to the database via DAO
    4. Write a flat text file which is referenced in the db record
    5. Move file to sucess location on server

This process needs is to occur every minute. My program is pretty messy at the moment and the process above is taking around 7 seconds PER xml file, which I feel is way too long.

If anyone has done anything similar, I'd love to hear.

Cheers

How large are the xml files (how many records/domain objects)?

Comment

Currently the xml files are under 10k each and per XML file.

I populate a number of domain objects. The 1st uses most of the elements from the XML and the others are returned from Hibernate based some other values in the XML.

Comment

Originally posted by Sprang View Post
        Currently the xml files are under 10k each and per XML file.

I populate a number of domain objects. The 1st uses most of the elements from the XML and the others are returned from Hibernate based some other values in the XML.
        So, you are doing about 10k db inserts as well 10k+ queries?

Comment

sorry, 10k in file size .

Initially I migh be processing 60xml files per hour, but longterm there is no real way of knowing just how many files I will be be dealing with. As our editorial system becomes more widely used within the business, the more XML files will need processing.

Comment

Originally posted by chudak View Post