Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Evaluating Spring Batch framework

Hello,

I have a business use case and after reading the documentation, looks like spring batch framework can help me solve it.

Use Case: Three type of files are written to a directory by mainframe. my application needs to listen on the folder, read the file and based on that needs to decide what type of file it is. Once that is done, it should read each record seperated by a delimiter(which varies based on file type) and should send the message over to a JMS queue.

Another application recieves the message written over JMS and processes it. If a certain threshhold is crossed for the errors, it needs to send a message back to the application which is writing messages to the Queue to stop sending any more messages till the problem is rectified(i.e. the currupt file is replaced).

I am very new to spring. (my first project!) I have following questions:
    1) Should there be a different JOB for handling each type of file (as mentioned, 3 types currenlty)?

2) In case these can be handled using 1 Job only, it needs to keep running and listen on a perticular folder. Any ideas how to do that?

3) In case its a single application, and error threshhold is crossed for 1 type of file type, only that process which is parsing that perticular file needs to terminate(rather suspend). It needs to move the file being processed to a Error folder. It also needs to start processing the next file/file type. Is this possible using the batch framework? Even before processing the file, the file needs to be moved to a Processing folder. This should be s STEP, right?

4) How will the threshhold exceeded notification sent to the job will be handled? anyone has done something like this?

5) Once the file has been rectified, the application needs to be notified that it should resume.

6) If this has to be scheduled job, how do i do scheduling?