Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie: Help for SQL Server

Hi there,

I am totally new to Spring Batch, but have worked with Spring in one project.

Can you pls. help me with, or direct me to information about:

- Telling Spring Batch Core to use my database on SQL Server.
    - Telling the samples to use my database on SQL Server.
    - Pointing out which configuration/property files I need to run one of the samles from a command line.

I have successfully downloaded the the core and samples and have tried running one og the samples as a JUnit. But I can't figure out how to switch from the default (?) hsql til Microsoft SQL Server.

ANY help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Preben

Unfortunately Spring does not provide an incrementer for MSSQL, which Spring Batch requires. See http://jira.springframework.org/browse/BATCH-328

Otherwise you can switch samples to using different databases by setting the 'environment' system property (see environment bean in data-source-context.xml).

Comment

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the quick response. Working with SQL Server I have found out that the system itself has a method for incrementing ID field.

If I declare a field on the database as:
      ID INTEGER IDENTITY(0,1)

then SQL Server will automatically increment the value of that field every time I insert a row in the table.

Does that bring me closer to working with Spring Batch and SQL Server in conjunction ?

I'm right now trying to figure out how alter the SQL for the Spring Batch CORE and for the samples. Will post it here, if I get it to run :-)

/Preben

Comment

Does that bring me closer to working with Spring Batch and SQL Server in conjunction ?
        I'm afraid not really, you'll still need the DataFieldMaxValueIncrementer that framework expects - I don't know any way around that.

Comment

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the response. My problem is, that I ONLY have an SQL Server 2005.