Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to start the job?

Hello All,

I am pretty new to Spring Batch, but I am pretty impressed with its features and usecases and am planning to use it in our project.

I downloaded everything (samples, distribution etc) and have added that into my Eclipse project. I am using mysql database and can successfully run org.springframework.batch.sample.launch.TaskExecut orLauncher and use mysql scripts that came with the package.

Everything went just fine, the scripts created all the tables, even the business mysql script ran successfully and created all business tables.

But my program always stops at "Started application. Please connect using JMX (remember to use -Dcom.sun.management.jmxremote if you can't see anything in Jconsole)."

It says the application is started, I am pretty much sure that it didnt run the job, as it batchUpdateJob is what I am trying to run (from samples) and it did not update anything in the table.

Can you help me to understand where am I? What should I do to run the job? Is there a simple hello world job that I can run?? Is there blank jar file like spring-blank.jar file to get started with a project from scratch??

Any help to get started with my first job should be GREAT!! I am pretty much comfortable with the rest of the architecture, just trying to find the kick-start.

Any article or document that describes what are the minimum things required to get going for an simple hello world job would be GREAT.

Also I do not see any other output? It asks me to attach JMX by providing JVM arguments described about, but even that did not help.

Thanks!
    Last edited by hailspring; Apr 12th, 2008, 10:03 AM.