Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre-processing

Hi,

I am new to Spring Batch and am trying to find the right components to implement the requirements below.

These are the things i am looking forward to implement:

1. FTP a file from remote location to the server, where Spring Batch is going to run.
    2. Check the length of this file and update the length in the database table (T1).

My questions are:
    Can i use step level listener for actions 1 and 2 above? If not listeneres then where can we handle this?
    Can we use listeners to retrieve or insert data in the database?

Thank you,
    SpringForever

You may want to look at Spring Integration. Spring Batch made a decision to stay out of file moving very early on. However, Spring Integration has many of these types of tools already.

Comment

To address the issue of listeners, I would advise against adding any "business" logic to listeners - if moving a file or sending something via FTP is one of the goals of your job, it should be in the main body of a tasklet or item-oriented artifact (e.g. ItemReader, ItemWriter). The listeners should, in my opinion, be used for resource lifecycle maintenance (i.e. initializing restart, opening and closing streams and sockets, creating or deleting temporary files, etc.).

By enforcing such a contract, you allow for such conveniences as adding AOP calls around business logic, managing restartability and more easily tracking down the source of errors (since you'll know where to look instead of realizing that your configuration registers a listener that you didn't realize was being invoked).

Comment

Thank you dkaminsky and lucas for your reply....

Where and how do i check the length of a file? We also have a requirement to update this length in the database.
        Last edited by springforever; Mar 20th, 2008, 11:22 AM. Reason: additional question

Comment