Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie question about features

Hello All,

I'm fairly new to the Spring Framework and just discovered this sub-project, very interesting for my needs.

But I don't know if BATCH could help me to achieve the following. For example, my basic needs are:

1. On a regular basis, I receive Export files from a Database Server (an Oracle one) . Sometimes I've to get those files at an FTP Server. other from a network mapped unit, others from mail.

2. Then I must extract (normally I got them zipped) the dump files.

3. Then I must Import these dump files into another Database Server (another Oracle database)

4. Then I've to check the generated logs from the import and if all went right, send a confirmation mail.

As you could imagine all these steps repeat every time I've got to do this process.

Steps 2, 3 and 4 use OS's external utilities like 7-zip.exe or (Exp.exe or Imp.exe from Oracle).

I don't know is these steps could be addressed and make more automatic using BATCH.

Any advise'd be kindly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

You can implement (2), (3) and (4) as a three-step job.

1. You'll need to put the files to some well-defined location, the framework has no magic capabilities yet You can however specify a pattern for file location that includes e.g. current date rather than just absolute path.

2. there is currently no explicit support for zip input, so you don't get restart & transaction capabilities for this step. However, after M4 release input readers most probably won't need to care about transactions anymore. Assuming you don't care about advanced restart (just restart from scratch rather then pick up where you last finished) I see no problem with this step - you'll need to write a few lines of code though (or you can even invoke the system call you're using currently).