Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring batch - using stored procs with SqlCursorInputSource

Hi,

Is it possible to use stored procedures as a cursor input source? Further, can I pass parameters to the stored proc?

Thanks a lot for your help,

Stefan

You can use any sql statement, so you can use functions in your select if you like.

As a side note, if you want to optimize it is in general much faster to define proper views and base your select on that. This gives the dba the proper hooks to optimize and it prevents you from doing something silly like writing a loop instead of a select.
    Last edited by iwein; Jan 12th, 2008, 08:15 AM. Reason: irrelevant

Comment

Hi Iwein,

Thanks a lot for the reply. Can you please elaborare more on how to pass parameters to the stored proc. I am new to Spring Batch and based on the documentation I have seen (the project commiters should really focus more on writing documentation ) the query is specified in the configuration file. How am I going to be able to pass stored proc parameters from a shell script for example.
      Use case scenario: The cursor input source (described as a stored proc) will receive a date as input parameter from a shell script, will select required data based on that input date and process each data item in a transaction.

Can I do this?

Again many thanks for your help,

Stefan

Comment