Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using 2 different datasources with Spring Batch

Hello,

I am completely new to Spring Batch and am just getting started with it, so I apologize if some of my questions are too obvious!

In my department we use Microsoft SQL Server databases. Also, we are restricted to the usage of stored procedures when interacting with the database. That's why I am trying to adapt the job and step incrementer to that policy and haven't succeeded so far.

Therefore, I was wondering if it is possible to use 2 databases simultaneously, the standard one for data processing and keep the embedded HSQLDB (or any other database) only for the framework?

Cheers,
    Choucri

Choucri,

You can choose any database that you like to run Spring Batch with. The framework does store metadata in 4 tables (will probably increase with m4 though). You could easily use a database to store metadata in, and another one for application concerns. However, I wouldn't recommend using an in-memory database for the metadata. The value of storing information about a batch run is being to able to look at it in real-time, and report off of it. For instance, you could look back and see what time a job was run two weeks ago, and how many records it processed, etc.