X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dynamic multi-threading

Hi, I'm new to spring-batch and I don't the best way to do this.

My batch application generates some files to be downloaded later by the client, and I do all the processing in a class that I implemented org.springframework.batch.core.step.tasklet.Taskle t.

I need to make my application multi-thread, but the amount of thread to run each job instance will be defined by the client. So I'll have a pool with, say, 10 threads, and the client in his request will say how many threads he wants for his file generation.

What is the best way to accomplish this? I've already read the Chapter 7 form the spring-batch reference, but I still have no idea.

Thanks!!

Hi,

I still hope to find a better solution, but it works - at least for me :-) I spent some time trying to use late binding for the property "concurrencyLimit" of the bean "taskExecutor", but I finally gave up.

<bean id="taskExecutor" class="org.springframework.core.task.SimpleAsyncTa skExecutor"/>

<batch:job id="myJob">
    <batch:step id="myStep">
    <batch:tasklet task-executor="taskExecutor" throttle-limit="10">
    <batch:chunk reader="itemReader" writer="itemWriter" commit-interval="1"/>
    </batch:tasklet>
    </batch:step>
    </batch:job>

I start the job like that:
    final int concurrencyLimit = 7; // replace this value with whatever you like

ApplicationContext ctx = new ClassPathXmlApplicationContext("spring/test-config.xml");
    JobLauncher launcher = (JobLauncher) ctx.getBean("jobLauncher");
    SimpleAsyncTaskExecutor taskExecutor = (SimpleAsyncTaskExecutor) ctx.getBean("taskExecutor");
    taskExecutor.setConcurrencyLimit(concurrencyLimit) ;
    JobParameters jobParams = new JobParametersBuilder().toJobParameters();
    Job job = (Job) ctx.getBean("myJob", Job.class);
    launcher.run(job, jobParams);

Comment

Originally posted by BjRi View Post
      Hi,