Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help in designing for my requirement

Hello All,

I am new to the Spring Framework. I have got a requirement of processing a huge file, one row at a time. But i am not sure if batch will help me achieve this.

Here is the requirement:
    1. I have a folder say input-folder containing one or more cvs file. I need to pickup oldest file from that folder, move it to another folder say process-folder.

2. Pick that cvs file from process-folder and convert it to XML file (each row of cvs to one xml record per row).
    example:

cvs file data:

column1,column2,column3
    data11,data12,data13
    data21,data22,data23
    data31,data32,data33
    data41,data42,data43

xml file data:

<record><column1>data11</column1><column2>data12/column2><column3>data13</column3></record>
    <record><column1>data21</column1><column2>data22/column2><column3>data23</column3></record>
    <record><column1>data31</column1><column2>data32/column2><column3>data33</column3></record>
    <record><column1>data41</column1><column2>data42/column2><column3>data43</column3></record>

3. Validate that XML record, one row at a time and put it onto a jms queue.

4. Once all the record has been processed successfully from xml file, move cvs file to another folder say output-folder and delete temp xml file from process-folder.

5. Repeat step 1 to 4 indefinitely. If there is no cvs file is present in input-folder for processing then wait for sometime before looking for file again.

This program should never stop, until manually stopped.

I have most of the code available for step 1 to 4 in bits and pieces. I was thinking if i can use Batch to integrate the code as one component.

Here are my doubts:
    1. Can I use batch for above scenario? if yes, then how can i design job?