Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
FlatFileItemReader, org.springframework.batch.item.ReaderNotOpenExcept ion Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FlatFileItemReader, org.springframework.batch.item.ReaderNotOpenExcept ion

org.springframework.batch.item.ReaderNotOpenExcept ion: Reader must be open before it can be read. I'm using spring-batch-infrastructure-2.0.4.RELEASE.jar

I'm new to spring batch and did some investigation by reading reference doc.
    I'm using FlatFileItemReader and unit testing my code for XXXItemFieldSetMapper. fileItemReader.read() threw the about error message.

@Before
    public void setUp() throws Exception {
    myItemReader = new FlatFileItemReader();
    /***set lineMapper etc***/
    matchingItems = new ArrayList<CSVSettlementMatchingItem>();
    myItemReader.setResource(new FileSystemResource("resources/data.csv"));
    }
    @Test
    public void testRead() throws Exception{
    for(MyItem item: matchingItems) {
    matchingItem.equals(myItemReader.read());
    }
    }

It was a bug but was fixed(see the link). but I'm using v2.0.4. and will set scope=step for my FlatFileItemReader. Please help and thanks in advance
    https://jira.springsource.org/browse...ream-issue-tab

You aren't using a FlatFileItemReader configured in xml, you are configuring/instantiating one yourself. This also means that you must simulate the batch lifecycle and also honour the ItemStream contract. So either use a FlatFileItemReader configured in xml or call the lifecycle methods yourself.

Comment

Thanks for your quick response and help. Could you please let me know where I can find information to call the lifecycle method myself (in order to honour the ItemStream)? Thank you very much.

Comment