X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Batch for me?

I am very new to Spring and it's proving difficult for me to determine if the Spring batch mechanism would be something I can utilize for a project requirement I have.

Requirement: Poll a file system location for appearance of file (which in reality a new file would arrive each day - name is unique every time) and then parse the file (it is tab-delimitted) into a POJO structure (some fields may map directly to a parent POJO while other fields may map into child POJO instances which are members of the parent POJO). And then finally this object structure gets passed to a very business logic specific module for processing.

Now, my initial low level Java gut reaction is, I create my own Thread that polls that file system, using a database to keep track of the files, and when a new file is found mark it on the database, read and parse it into my object structure, and pass it to my business logic module.

However it looks like I may be able to use Spring batch or integration to really streamline this process but I really dont know where to begin.

With using Spring batch, can I have it poll a file system location for files? Will it be able to ignore a header line? Will it be able to map the fields to a object tree structure instead of a single POJO?

Here's a tough question - will I be able to configure it so that it can call my business logic module to process each parsed object tree line-by-line? In other words, for every record it reads off the file it needs to call my business logic module prior to continuing to the next record.

So is batch for me or do I have to go back to low level coding?

Can you give me any quick configuration example how this cane be accomplished?

Hi,

Does this help?

http://forum.springsource.org/showth...ll-file-system

Comment

Originally posted by DaveyS View Post
      Hello, Thanks for the reply!