Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using multiple annotations/aspects on the same method

Hi

[ All java files and app context at the end of this post ]

I'm new to AspectJ / Spring AOP and having problems when applying multiple annotations against a method. Also thinking of using Spring Integration for a project and assessing error handling features.

I have the following test "pipeline" scenario:

JMS Q --> Spring I. JMS Msg Driven Adapter --> direct channel --> Transformer --> direct channel --> Service Activator (a dummy validator object).

The code attached places 2 msgs on the JMS Q that ripples throught the pipeline channels. The first succeeds, the 2nd fails (hard-coded Exception thrown) so that I can test out my aspects are working correctly.

Actual project will have a succession of about 7/8 channels each with an Endpoint.

Noticed that if there's at least one pollable queue in the chain of channels you get generic error handling for free and can capture the failed msg using MessagingException.getFailedMessage() etc etc. That's nice, however, with a sequence of direct channels only, the failed msg isn't sent to the generic errorChannel, as the Exception is propagated back to the sender. In my case, the Exception propagates back to the JMS Msg driven adapter.

To remedy this I'm going to use an "aspect / bespoke annotation" approach e.g. (@PipelineExceptionHandlingRequired) and annotate any method that requires an exception to be caught and direct the failed Message to an error channel. The Aspect then looks out for any methods that fire with this annotation and see if an Exception is thrown if it is I send a msg to a channel: "myErrorChannel".

I apply the PipelineExceptionHandlingRequired annotation to the Validator.validate() method.

This seems to work OK (although I'm not sure my method of trapping the exception in the ProceedingJoinPoint is the correct approach - can anyone help on that?)