X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic Spring AOP

I'm just getting started with Spring AOP and I'm trying to add some simple logging into my web app. For logging purposes I want to implement the MethodBeforeAdvice, and AfterReturningAdvice so that I have access to the method names that will be called. To get things started I am trying to add logging to my Dao. My advice class looks like this:

public class BasicLoggingAdvice implements
    MethodBeforeAdvice, AfterReturningAdvice, ThrowsAdvice
    {

public void before(Method method, Object[] params, Object target) throws Throwable
    {
    System.out.println("Entered method: " + method.getName());
    }

public void afterReturning(Object retVal, Method method, Object[] params, Object target) throws Throwable
    {
    System.out.println("Exited method: " + method.getName());
    }

public void afterThrowing(Method method, Object[] params, Object target, Throwable e)
    {
    System.out.println("Exception occurred: " + e.getMessage());
    }
    }

Spring configuration:

<bean id="simpleAdvice" class="com.pwg.tradedemo.aspects.logging.BasicLogg ingAdvice" />

<bean id="simpleAdvisor"
    class="org.springframework.aop.aspectj.AspectJExpr essionPointcutAdvisor"
    p:expression="execution(* com.pwg.tradedemo.dal.jpa.JpaTradesDao.*(..))"
    p:advice-ref="simpleAdvice"/>

<bean class="org.springframework.aop.framework.autoproxy .DefaultAdvisorAutoProxyCreator"/>

It seems like my problem is with my pointcut, when I use "execution(* *.getTrades())" everything seems to work fine. I'm not receiving any exceptions, I'm just not getting any results. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Are you sure your pointcut points to the correct class and you use that class when calling your methods ?

Comment

Class name is correct