X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• trouble with <tx:annotation-driven/> and hibernate

I'm new to Spring, but i've read a lot of documentation(even searched this forum for this topic) , but still can't figure this one out. need help from anyone with experience with @Transactional using <tx:annotation-driven>

I have this:

<bean id="transactionManager"
    class="org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.Hibernat eTransactionManager">
    <property name="sessionFactory" ref="sessionFactory"/>
    </bean>

<tx:annotation-driven/>

"sessionFactory" is correctly defined.
    Then my service class (Which uses Hibernate 3.1) has this:

@Transactional(propagation=Propagation.REQUIRES_NE W, readOnly=true)
    public User getUserByUsername(String username) {
    return ((User) getSession()
    .createQuery("from User u where u.username like :un")
    .setString("un", username)
    .setMaxResults(1)
    .uniqueResult());
    }

then this is from the stack trace:

09:51:11,491 ERROR AutoHandler:30 - createQuery is not valid without active transaction
    org.hibernate.HibernateException: createQuery is not valid without active transaction
    at org.hibernate.context.ThreadLocalSessionContext$Tr ansactionProtectionWrapper.invoke(ThreadLocalSessi onContext.java:297)
    at $Proxy39.createQuery(Unknown Source)
    at net.ehosp.model.daoImpl.UserDAOHibernate.getUserBy Username(UserDAOHibernate.java:61)
    at net.ehosp.controller.LoginActionBean.login(LoginAc tionBean.java:136)
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)

Any ideas? is this a problem with hibernate?

Your DAO instance is not being managed by Spring, and therefore the transactional proxy is not being applied. You should be getting the DAO instance from Spring (typically using dependency-injection into the calling object). How are you currently getting this object?

Comment

Thanks. The DAO is being managed by Spring through dependency injection.