Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• meta-data driven vs XML configuration proxying

Hello.

I've new to Spring framework and really impressed. Me an my team are trying to replace the Stateless EJB layer from our application to Spring.
    My question is about the differences between the doing transaction demarcation through meta-data and through XML configuration - I would like to hear what are the oppinions on these approaches and which performs better ?

I know that everyone has his/her own way but considering that I'm new to this framework I'd like some advice to make my own oppinion.I looked over the internet but I couldn't find any info about the performance of Commons Attribute (C-A) - how fast is to extract the information from the source then evaluating a regular expression on the method name (XML configuration)?

I personally like the XML approach for serveral reasons (pls comment):
    1. you don't need an additional step in compiling. Indeed is not that complicated but the source code is changed with Commons Attribute which means debugging can be a problem - you have additional code there.
    2. I have no evidence so pls comment on this one but I suppose evaluating a regex is faster then checking an attribute.
    3. Xdoclet tags can help in providing source-code level tags which can generate XML configuration files.
    4. the transaction configuration can be changed at runtime without any need of compiling. I have never had this issue but still it offers more decoupling.

I realize I might be still biased towards Xdoclet use even though this might not be the case so you are more then welcome to give feedback.

Thanks.

Costin,

I can't comment too much on the performance of looking up an attribute, but it can't be that much. To see what I mean, take a look at the source code that is generated by Commons Attributes for your annotated classes.