Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to return a borrowed object to a pool?

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt to use AOP, so please forgive me for asking a question that may seem very obvious to you all.

I'm writing a piece of code to pool sockets (all with the same IP address and port number).

In order for the client code to be unaware of pooling or Spring working behind, the client needs to have a method called:

private Socket newSocket() throws UnknownHostException, IOException {
    return new Socket(this.ipAddress, this.port);
    }

In application context, a method injection is used to return an advised Socket from a Jakarta Commons generic object pool configured in the application context.

What puzzles me is that Sockets need to be closed and how to do it in such a way that is transparent to the client.

Through my reading of the reference document, my understanding is that I need to provide a method interceptor to return the Socket to the pool when close() method is called (and not to invoke proceed() method).

I also need to define the Socket objects as non-singleton and the destroy-method is "close", in the application context.

Is my understanding correct?

Are there any important considerations that I have missed?

A further question: if I define the destroy-method for a bean, will it be wrapped as a DisposableBean so that the close() method can be called by the pool? Or do I have to wrap it up myself?

After a second thought, using MethodInterceptor seems an overkill for one single class to intercept one single method, let alone the complicated configuration.

I'll most likely be better off to write a wrapper class that subclasses Socket and implements DisposableBean.

But how can this wrapper class get hold of the pool so that it can return the wrapped Socket back to the pool?

Comment