X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AOP and pattern design

Currently I'm doing some basic reading about the "extension object" pattern.

This pattern involves a lot of technical stuff like castings from A to B, asking for extensions....

Proposal: Instead of doing all this manually, it may be done through AOP. Now, the task is to translate this concern into an AOP aspect.

Problem: I have no pratical AOP experience.

Can someone help me to understand how this pattern may be translated to AOP.

Extension object:

A concrete base class, Subject, provides mechanisms to dynamically
    add and query for extensions. A given extension must be
    downcast to its specific interface (SpecificExtension) for use. The
    pattern as a whole amounts to defining a standard way to cross
    cast from one interface reference to another.

The aspect-oriented alternative to extension objects is extension
    aspects (Figure eight). This approach eliminates the need for client
    cross casting from one extension (or base interface) to another by
    directly injecting the implementation of a specific interface into a
    class seen by a given set of clients. Besides removing the cross
    casting from client code, this approach reduces the run-time
    overhead of the cross cast and the design complexity as measured
    in number of classes and methods. The core functionality is more
    reusable since its extension mechanism is not predefined via
    inheritance from Subject and dependence upon Extension.
    Excerpt taken from
    http://www.cs.ubc.ca/~kdvolder/Works...2-nordberg.pdf

Page 3/6

Thank you.

Though I'm not a Spring expert and have only begun to use AOP via Spring, it seems the "Extension Pattern" (after a very quick look) is used all over the place in Spring.

The reference manual has good stuff to get you started:
    http://www.springframework.org/docs/reference/aop.html