Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pooling target sources

Hi all,

Reading the reference documentation (version 1.0.2) on the subject I miss some examples that would provide guidance on the expected usage pattern, when exactly are beans released to the pool, etc.

I have tried a simple example and it seems I am always getting the same instance.

Also, I tried using the "poolConfigAdvisor" bean as illustrated in the reference documentation (page 53) but got the following exception:

org.springframework.beans.factory.BeanCreationExce ption: Error creating bean with name 'poolConfigAdvisor' defined in file [C:\development\springaoptest1\springconfig-pool.xml]: Error setting property values; nested exception is org.springframework.beans.NotWritablePropertyExcep tion: Invalid property 'target' of bean class [org.springframework.beans.factory.config.MethodInv okingFactoryBean]: Property 'target' is not writable

Of course, as I am a complete newbie to Spring I may be doing hundreds of things wrong... :?

Thanks,
    Fernando

Fernando

Pooling behaviour is quite hard to test, as it's perfectly valid to get the same instance in successive calls in the same thread.

An object will be obtained from the pool when the AOP framework creates the MethodInvocation object, when the method call hits an advised object. The object will be released from the pool when the method call is completed, whether it returns successfully or throws an exception.

The usage pattern should be like that of stateless session beans. You will have a pool of objects that each can maintain configuration (populated by DI in the case of Spring pooling) but cannot maintain state on behalf of clients. Think hard about why you want pooling at all and can't have a single thread safe instance.

The issue with the config advisor is an error in the documentation. It should be "targetObject". Thanks for pointing this out--I've fixed it.

Rod

Comment

Mr. Johnson,