X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mvn tomcat:deploy "Cannot invoke Tomcat manager"

Following the tutorial I get to the step where to deploy the first time. When executing mvn tomcat:deploy I get the error "Cannot invoke Tomcat manager", which origins form org.apache.maven.plugin.MojoExecutionException: Cannot invoke Tomcat manager. My guess it has to do with the role and user I specified in tomcat-users.xml (which I have done according to the tutorial).

Now, the thing is I have several Tomcat instances and, me being a maven novice, I can't figure out which one is being used by mvn tomcat:deploy. I suspect I did not change the correct tomcat-users.xml (the one I changed was in ../SpringSource tc Server v6.0-config/, I also tried the one included with sts 2.3).

//Carl

Hi, Carl

On my installation, I only keep one tomcat running and let it use 8080 port. I also have following settings in my [Tomcat directory]/conf/tomcat-users.xml

<tomcat-users>
    <role rolename="manager"/>
    <user username="admin" password="" roles="manager"/>
    </tomcat-users>

Hope it helps.

BTW, you may want to redownload the roo addon zip from springsurf.org and reinstall it.

1) Download http://www.springsurf.org/downloads/...-roo-addon.zip

2) Startup Roo and remove existing surf addon

>> addon uninstall *surf*.zip

3) Reinstall surf addon using the zip file you just download

>> addon install file:/[Path-to-your-zip-file]

Thanks!

Yong
    Last edited by yqu; Jan 9th, 2010, 10:13 PM.

Comment

This was a really stupid mistake by me. I assumed that mvn tomcat:deploy started tomcat as well. It works fine if I manually start tomcat before i deploy.
      //Carl

Comment

I have a similar problem. I have successfully managed to deploy the webapp the first time, but once I've made changes and tried to deploy again, it says...

Code:
        C:\sprinf-surf-sandbox\community>mvn tomcat:deploy
        [INFO] Scanning for projects...