Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FlexXMLApplicationContext.dispose() disposes too much?

Hi list,

I have some problems using the dispose() method of the FlexXMLApplicationContext.

My scenario is:
    I have a master-context with global services. If I load a module, the module has it's own module-context and the master-context is set as parent. So I the global services are available in the module.
    Before I unload the module I call the dispose() method so the module can be garbage-collected after unloading. After that the next module can be loaded.

This works fine BUT I can't use services from the master-context in my master application after calling the dispose() method.

Example:
    My master application opens a popUp which contains a presentationModel which uses the demoService (is a global service). Opening the popUp runs well.
    I load a module in which has an own module-context, the master-context is merged in and I can use the demoService. This runs well.
    I load another module which means I unload the loaded module and call the dispatch() method.
    After calling the dispatch() method the demoService is no more available in the popUp.
    If I reload the module using the demoService the demo data is shown.

Is there any solution my usecase works? Maybe I'm able to provide the complete demo application.

Regards,
    Christoph

demo

Hey Christoph,

this indeed sounds like unwanted behavior. Browsing through the sources I can't immediately tell where this could be a bug, so if you could indeed post a demo app that showcases the behavior I'll probably be able to trace the problem and provide a fix.

thanks a lot for bringing this one up!

cheers,

Roland

Comment

Hi Roland,

thanks for your reply.

You can find a running demo application in http://www.flexguse.de/moduleUnloader.
      After loading, please press the "open PopUp" button. A popUp with a filled datagrid comes up.