Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question about an assumption behind Operations

Hello.

I was excited to download and play with Spring Actionscript 1.0. I like the improvements, and I LOVE having documentation to help me better understand the Operation/Command Framework. Good work.

I wanted to ask for your reasoning behind one design decision - and my question might be naive as I'm relatively new to Flex.

It appears that Operation constructors must NOT return their results immediately. Here's GenericOperationCommand.execute():
    Code:
    			_operation = ClassUtils.newInstance(_operationClass,_constructorArguments);
    			_operation.addCompleteListener(operationComplete);
    			_operation.addErrorListener(operationError);
    If the operation's constructor immediately (i.e., synchronously) dispatches a completion or error event, the listeners will not receive this event.

I've thought of a couple of reasons why I might want operations to return immediately:
    • Testing. I wanted to create a MockOperation that failed consistently, 100% of the time. But my MockErrorOperation, wrapped in a GenericOperationCommand, didn't work because it dispatched its error event before listeners were attached. I could defer the result using a timer, but I don't see why I'd want to.
    • Caching. I could see myself creating a service-layer cache, and, again, see no reason to defer the results.

Your docs explicitly state that Operations execute asynchronously, and so I wanted to hear more about your reasons not to allow synchronous operations. In my testing and caching cases above, am I trying to do something foolish?

Again, thanks for the good work!

Phil

operations

Hey Phil,