Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring Events Together

Hi everybody,

My day job is normally Java/Spring development, so please forgive me if I've missed something completely.

I've been using Mate for a while now, and a bit os SAS in another project ... I really like how a service layer can be configured with SAS ... it seems to fit really well with the Java/Spring style of wiring singletons together.

What I like about Mate thou is how eventing stuff works ... i.e. i can listen to an event without caring where it came from ... thus avoiding having to wire to object together just to add an event listener between them.

And with SAS im not sure if I can do this kind of event wiring ... or am I missing something so simple that nobody talks about it on the forums?

If its not a simple feature, have people found a good way to use both Mate and SAS to get the best of both worlds?

Cheers
    Steve

Hi Steve,

0.8.1 does not support this but Christophe is working right now on a similar feature, I'm not sure it will make it for upcoming 0.9 but for sure it will be there for 1.0.

Cheers

Martino

Comment

Hi Steve,

like Martino said, I'm currently working on this feature. It will be metadata driven and you'll be able to listen for events by specifying a [EventHandler("someEvent")] annotation above the event handler function.

Event dispatching happens via an event bus and you'll be able to dispatch bubbled events which will be picked up by the bus, or dispatch through to event bus directly.

Is this the functionality you are looking for? If not, can you provide some input on how you would like it to be?

regards,
      Christophe

Comment

Sorry for late reply ... didn't realize a new message had been posted here

That sounds like exactly what I'm after ... I like the idea of annotating the method, sounds like a clean way to reduce the dependency to "I depend on this event".