Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How rich is rich?

I am new to RC.

I am building an app with a rich UI. Can RC as it now stands help me or will it get in the way? Has anyone built an RC app with a complex UI (views within views within views, views with toolbars, InternalFrames etc.)? What was it like?

I have wandered through the source without finding much obvious support for rich UIs. Documentation is sparse, including the JavaDoc. The only sample application has a very simple UI. So it's hard to tell and make an informed decision.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Re: How rich is rich?

I'm currently working on a mutli-view rich client app and I've found the Spring RCP very useful.

The spring rcp has been designed with a multipage per application, and multiview per page design. However, there is no current implemenation for multple views per page.

Personally, I've been using the JIDE docking framework for multiview support and the code to integrate with spring rcp has been released. I've found this solution very powerful, but it's not free.

I believe there was some support/integration code floating about that used one of the open source docking frameworks for multi-view implemenation.

Jonny

Originally posted by jfcloutier
    I am new to RC.

I am building an app with a rich UI. Can RC as it now stands help me or will it get in the way? Has anyone built an RC app with a complex UI (views within views within views, views with toolbars, InternalFrames etc.)? What was it like?

I have wandered through the source without finding much obvious support for rich UIs. Documentation is sparse, including the JavaDoc. The only sample application has a very simple UI. So it's hard to tell and make an informed decision.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Comment