X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to do simple list bindings

I am a RCP newbie, and I am trying to build some forms. Does anyone have some examples based on the latest source code that show how to add lists to a form? What I am looking for is an example with basic list bindings, and I believe some of the previous examples from the forum don't work due to the latest code changes (from what I have tried). For example, I want to do something like this:

The domain class:

Code:
    public class Project{
    	String name;
    	String[] members;
    	String manager;
    }
    Suppose in the GUI that I want a textfield to map to the name, a JList containing a list of employees' names to map members, and a comboBox containing all the employees' names to map to the manager. I assume this is a fairly trivial example that would get one started on how to do this. Here is my start on this, but how is one supposed to bind the list of available names to a JList? I saw how in the PetStore app the PetTypes are bound to the PetType, but in this case where I may have lots of lists of type string, I assume there is an easy way to do this.

Code snippet where form is created:

Code:
    {

JPanel view = new JPanel...
            Project project = new Project();
            FormModel projectModel = FormModelHelper.createFormModel(project);
            ProjectForm projectForm = new ProjectForm(projectModel, "projectForm");
            view.add(projectForm.createFormControl());
    }

// Here is the form, without Bindings

public class ProjectForm extends AbstractForm {

public ProjectForm(FormModel formModel, String formId) {
            super(formModel, formId);
        }

protected JComponent createFormControl() {
            List employees = new ArrayList();
            employees.add...Add some names e.g. "Bill", "Ted", "Mary", "Willy" 

// how to bind the employees names to the fields for JList and Combobox???

// Build the form