Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jasper Reports and Rich client

Hi all,

I am looking for some ideas on using jasper reports in rich client. I think there is some support in spring 1.1.3+ for jasper reports but its mainly view classes for web layer. Basically here is what I am thinking,

1. Create the report design (*.jrxml), compile it and put them on server class path (i.e. WEB-INF/reports/*.jasper). And then at run-time return the JasperReport to client that can dispaly it in JaspoerReport Viewer.

2. Creat the report programmatically in the client , request the data model from server compile the report on client at runt time and fll it with data and show it in ReportViewer.

3. Other

What do you guys think , all ideas are welcome!

Thanks

Amad

Hi Amad,

i think that an itegration to Jasper will be awesome. I have little experience
    with http://ireport.sourceforge.net/. Maybe a start for the integration?

siu
    Claudio

Comment

I too am right in the middle of this in our rich client project (Jasper, etc). One requirement for our project is a simple and easy to use interactive report designer for end users. iReports would be far too complicated. The basic idea is to have premade reports that the user can visually tweak, like maybe dragging columns around, adding/removing columns, changing visual properties (box here, double lines there, etc) - but nothing more advanced than that (it would overwhelm our target users). Even further, they are asking that the user perform this tweaking on a populated report so that they can go so far as reorganizing how individual rows (rows that have been dynamically generated from the source data) are formatted and placed. If anyone knows of anything remotely close to this in the open source world (or even <gulp> in the commercial world), I would love to hear about it.

Thanks,
      Andy

Comment

Andy here is a list of GUI tools for designing reports,