X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting started: problems

Hello guys, i'm a student with j2se programming experience, i used hibernate in a project for school and really liked it, but now for the first time i want to use a framework. I'm familiar with the concept of a framework (i use a php framework each day). Advanced concepts like ioc and the methods of packaging/deploying (eg with maven2) are new for me, but i want to learn ;-)
    I have used eclipse 3.2 for creating some java projects and i can find my way in it ;-). I can work with both the svn cli program as with subclipse

I want to write a desktop application (panels with reports, editable entries, draggable items, with in the datalayer hibernate and a SOAP client), using spring rich client but i have problems getting started

1) how does SRC relate to spring (2) ? I've found out that SRC is a subproject of spring, and that src is meant to make programming of desktop applications easier, by providing an api which also simplifies working with swing. But i wonder: do you need spring or spring 2 when working with SRC? or does src on itself offer all the functionality one would wish for writing a desktop application?

2) this depends a bit on the answer of 1), but i've tried to get started using spring 2 for desktop applications, so obviously i checked out http://www.springframework.org/documentation and did some further searching on the web, but my problem is that most, if not all tutorials/articles/howto's are about web applications (using *.wars, tomcat,...) and/or are outdated: they discuss spring 1 (understandable offcourse since spring 2 is so new). So my question basically is: can anyone point me to a good article/howto/tutorial or even ebook about using spring 2 for web applications? or am i searching way too far?