X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building 0.2.0 and Nightly builds

Sorry if this has been covered before, but...It's my understanding that Spring Rich Client has changed quite a bit since 0.1.0 and as such, I'd like to tinker with the latest and greatest.

So, I visited the nightly build link. It doesn't appear that anything has been placed out there since August 9th...and that appears to be an empty directory under spring-richclient/0.2.0-SNAPSHOT. No JAR files.

That's okay...I'm a developer...I'm not afraid of building it myself. So, I checked the latest stuff out of Subversion and ran "mvn install". After some time passed, I got an error complaining about a missing JNLP JAR file. A little detective work revealed that my javaws.jar file is in a different place on my Mac that it usually is on a Windows machine. I tweaked the pom.xml file and moved on.

A little while later, I had a "BUILD SUCCESSFUL". Fantastic! I then looked at all of the module JARs and was dismayed to discover that they were mostly empty. A little more detective work revealed that although the project has been broken apart in spirit, most of the stuff is still under "support". Not a problem...I'll use that JAR file.

Then I got errors about missing class from the binding package (Conversion something-or-other...I've forgotten the exact class name by now). Sure enough, it's missing from the support JAR. I dug around in the source code...nowhere to be found.

After several hours of frustration, I decided to tinker with 0.1.0. Within moments, I had a simple, but working Spring RCP app.

I realize that there's a disclaimer saying that 0.2.0 (SNAPSHOT) is unstable. But I'm led to believe that some of you are successfully using the latest stuff and I'd like to be one of the cool kids. This leads me to ask two questions:

1. Is there some special setup I need to do to get the 0.2.0 stuff to work from a manual build?