Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overview of Spring Rich

Hi,

I'm new to Spring, and in fact, I'm fairly new to Java in general (my main experience is with Win32 development using Borland Delphi/C++Builder). We're currently looking into starting a new open-source java-based ERP solution (in French), and so we're investigating existing solutions to see what, if anything, would answer our needs.

I'm currently reading a book about Spring, and it seems very useful, though I have no experience with (nor use for) advanced J2EE development, I'm more interested in rich clients -- an area which the Java world seems to have largely neglected for many years.

I am therefore interested by the rise of both Spring RCP and Eclispe RCP, which both seem to be addressing some (though not all) of the problems that I can see, related to GUI development with Java.

So could someone give me a brief overview of the general philosophy and functionality of Spring RCP? We have some ideas of what we want, and if we can't find it elsewhere, we are planning to start an open source project to manage it, but if possible, we'd of course like to join our efforts with others, and build on an existing framework, such as Spring, so as to avoid reinventing wheels crooked. Here, in a nutshell, is what we're after:

1) A multi-layer framework, allowing clear separation between business logic from data-access and presentation. Spring seems to do a lot in that direction, which is why I'm interested in it.

2) A simplification and abstraction of GUI coding, so as to enable several things:

- End-user personalisation capabilities (using XML to describe the user interface and the links between the available actions (coded in Java) and the UI elements). This means, ability to add widgets, change label, add columns to grids, etc.