Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two questions about RMI with Spring, monitor RMI / SSL

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Spring remoting, I would like to use RMI to call some remote methods and transfer simple XML Strings. Now I have two questions, I hope you can help me on this:

1. Is it possible to use SSL with Spring RMI?
    2. Can I monitor the state of a remote method call, let's say to see the progress of the data transfer?

If these questions have nothing to do with Spring but with RMI itself, I'm sorry and please say so

Thanks a lot for your help

Originally posted by patb View Post
    1. Is it possible to use SSL with Spring RMI?
    Yes, it's possible. You have to configure RMI stuff with necessary RMI socket factories. Check the following spring rmi exporter properties - RmiServiceExporter.clientSocketFactory and RmiServiceExporter.serverSocketFactory. Also you may find useful the following RMI guide chapter - Using Custom Socket Factories with JavaTM RMI .

2. Can I monitor the state of a remote method call, let's say to see the progress of the data transfer?
    It's not possible to provide such functionality out-of-the-box. RMI layer doesn't know anything about your domain-level processing. You can implement such progress notification only by hand.

Comment

Hello Denis,

Originally posted by denis.zhdanov View Post
      Yes, it's possible. You have to configure RMI stuff with necessary RMI socket factories. Check the following spring rmi exporter properties - RmiServiceExporter.clientSocketFactory and RmiServiceExporter.serverSocketFactory. Also you may find useful the following RMI guide chapter - Using Custom Socket Factories with JavaTM RMI .
      thanks a lot for your help. These properties are exactly what I was looking for. So I found the class "SslRMIClientSocketFactory", which I must use.

Originally posted by denis.zhdanov View Post