Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best remoting choice

Hi,

I want to connect to my business logic in many ways - such as remote rich client (java desktop, swing), mobile client, or web client. Could you tell me, how I can meet this demands? Or some helpful materials on the web? Thx in advance.

In principle the choice of middleware should not influence the design of your system. You can expose the same remote interface with different middleware. In Spring (in some cases) it is just a configuration detail.

Comment

Great! I studied some matetirals and eventually chose hessian remoting (as web service on Tomcat) for my first client - rich desktop client.

Comment

In my recent tests I found hessian to be quite a good remoting tool but the serializer had some strange problems with my objects to the point I lost my rag with it and went with Spring's HTTP invoker and I've exposed XFire for other languages to interface with my services.

In some cases I actually found XFire nearly as fast as hessian (it's score was very erratic where SOAP's depended on the client machine's load). RMI & HTTP invoker beat them both for transfering a 32kb byte[] around. The figures were about:
        • Local filesystem (normalising) - 2ms
        • RMI - 6ms
        • HTTP Invoker - 8ms
        • Hessian - 21ms
        • XFire - 28ms

This was to read the file from disk into a byte[] (using commons-io's IOUtils) & marshal the byte[] over the algorithm to the client. Speed was assessed at the client. All machines were on a local network so I have no idea on how fast/slow these protocols are over distance. The file access is there just to show how long it takes Java to read in the file so you can take 2ms off all the times.

Comment

I am using RMI with spring,but i meet a problem:how to build session with RMI.

Comment

Originally posted by greateWei
            I am using RMI with spring,but i meet a problem:how to build session with RMI.