Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring Framework Step by step tutorial

Hi,
    I'm a Spring newbie and recently completed the step by step guide which was very easy to follow, worked first time and it taught me the basics. The problem I have with it is that it's out of date and seems to be based on Spring 2.0, although claiming to be for 2.5.
    Anyway, I downloaded Spring 3.0.1 got the tutorial app running on that and then set about updating it to conform with 3.0 which I believe I have achieved.
    It's a shame that a guide so easy to follow for a beginner is not kept up to date.
    So, I am willing to update the guide and post it here or somewhere else if anyone is interested.
    Regards,
    Mark Billingham

I would love to see that updated tutorial.

I am also new to Spring, although I have been in the software business forever, including 20 years managing production of development tools. There is very little that bugs me as much as trying to learn something where the documentation (including tutorials) no longer matches the state of the software. Usually I just walk away from the package when that happens, but Spring interests me enough so that I am not going to do that just yet.

While we're at it, how about a tutorial that assumes that you have the SpringSource Tool Suite? Maybe we need to keep the old version around, but some of us have been using Eclipse-based tools for years and just have zero interest in command lines. STS is a very well done package, and the step-by-step tutorial illustrations are clearly from Eclipse anyway. So perhaps it's time to get rid of all the little notes that say "if you are using an IDE..." and just have a tutorial for people who are known to be using STS.

Comment

how to use spring framework for web site?

hi everyone. i don't know how to begin using spring framework. please help me?

Comment

Hi Calast,
        No problem, but give me a few days to make the changes.