X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Update issue of domain classes.

hi all, i'm a newbie about Grails and i have a question about how Grails manage transactions while updating an object domain.

This is my case:
    Domain class:
    Customer {
    String name
    String code
    static constraints = {
    name(nullable:false,blank:false,unique:true)
    code(nullable:false,blank:false,unique: true)

}
    }
    In the Customer controller i have this code for update the Customer domain :

def update = {
    Customer customer = Customer.get(params.id)
    customer.properties = params;
    //here validating the code with my regex or something
    if(!isValidCode(params.code)){
    customer.errors.rejectValue 'code', 'Bad code'
    render view:"edit",model:[customer:customer]
    return;
    }

if(customer.save()) {
    redirect action:list
    }else {
    render view:"edit",model:[customer:customer]
    }
    }

Ok the problem is :
    Why if i enter in the block if(!isValidCode(params.code)) , that mean the code have a not allowed value , after the return statement the instance is stored with the wrong value on the DB?
    How can i mark the instance object retrieved via domainClass.get(id) as not qualified to be saved on the DB?
    I use the domainClass.errors.rejectValue('nameProperty','err or message') and i thought that the Framework should recognize as the object is not safe to be saved/updated on the db, but seem that it ignore my errors.
    I have the workaround:
    discard() on the instance and then merge() instead of save() but what i want know is which is the correct way to accomplish an update without the discard() method. how to set an error in a correct manner so Grails will not save my instance on DB.

Thankin advance for any tip and reply.
    T.