Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
How to Map a Simple Oracle "Legacy" Table into a Grails Domain Class? Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Map a Simple Oracle "Legacy" Table into a Grails Domain Class?

Hi, everyone. I am a very experienced java developer, and a somewhat experienced Spring developer, but am new to Grails.

I'm trying to create a simple one-table one-class grails prototype app that reads from a simple pre-existing Oracle table.

I can see that the grails app is connecting to the database ok, but when I code the Datasource.groovy as dbCreate="update", it wants to add a new hibernate_sequence to the table, and gets this exception:

Code:
    C:\opt\grailsWorkspace\myapp>grails run-app
    Welcome to Grails 1.3.7 - http://grails.org/
    Licensed under Apache Standard License 2.0
    Grails home is set to: C:\opt\grails

Base Directory: C:\opt\grailsWorkspace\myapp
    Resolving dependencies...
    Dependencies resolved in 1154ms.
    Running script C:\opt\grails\scripts\RunApp.groovy
    Environment set to development
      [groovyc] Compiling 2 source files to C:\opt\grailsWorkspace\myapp\tar
    get\classes
       [delete] Deleting directory C:\Users\bethridge\.grails\1.3.7\projects\myapp\tomcat
    Running Grails application..
    2013-04-25 14:41:10,410 [main] ERROR hbm2ddl.SchemaUpdate  - Unsuccessful: creat
    e sequence hibernate_sequence
    2013-04-25 14:41:10,410 [main] ERROR hbm2ddl.SchemaUpdate  - ORA-01031: insuffic
    ient privileges
    Thank goodness I didn't have the Oracle privilege to do such. Otherwise, I imagine I would have just messed up a perfectly good Oracle table for our whole team! (The Grails documentation in my Grails book was not very clear on that point.)

If I change to dbCreate="validate", then I get this exception:
    Code: