X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Build Twitter with Groovy Grails in 90 Minutes

Hi, I am new in grails and I am trying to learn it by watching this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8d1hp8n1stA
    I believe the source code is here: https://github.com/grails-samples/grailstwitter

I've followed the tutorial step-by-step but I am unable to login. It returns this error: Sorry, we were not able to find a user with that username and password.
    My understanding is that the bootstrap code is supposed to create a user called 'jeff' with a password 'password'. But my app is not happy.

I guess I missed the database configuration part...but how does it know what database to use? I am guessing that this is my problem.

Can anyone give me some pointers?

Thank you

Ceci

You're most likely double-encoding the password. The latest versions of the plugin have code in the generated User domain class that automatically encrypts the password for you, but older tutorials aren't aware of it and explicitly call springSecurityService.encodePassword(). So either remove the calls to springSecurityService.encodePassword() or remove the encoding in the domain class.

Comment

can't find the springSecurityService.encodePassword()

I can't find any references to springSecurityService.encodePassword() been called. The only file with references to is loginController.groovy file.

import grails.converters.JSON
      import grails.plugins.springsecurity.Secured

import org.codehaus.groovy.grails.plugins.springsecurity. SpringSecurityUtils

import org.springframework.security.authentication.Accoun tExpiredException
      import org.springframework.security.authentication.Creden tialsExpiredException
      import org.springframework.security.authentication.Disabl edException
      import org.springframework.security.authentication.Locked Exception
      import org.springframework.security.core.context.Security ContextHolder as SCH