X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble with legacy DB and composite keys

This is my first attempt at trying to tie a Grails app to a legacy Oracle DB and I'm having a lot of trouble. To top it off the tables are both transactional meaning that to simply get the current record for each domain I had to build views (because it required things like: 'table_active = 'Y' and table_field IS NOT NULL'

I have 2 domains:
    Code:
    class Applicant {
        long pid
        String firstName

static hasMany = [addresses: Address]

static constraints = {
            addresses	nullable: true
        }

static mapping = {
            table		"LEGACY_APPLICANT_VW"	
    	cache		'read-only'

id			column: 'table_pid', name: 'pid'
    	version		false

columns{
                 pid               column: 'table_pid'
                 firstName      column: 'table_first_nam' 

}

}

}

class Address implements Serializable {
        long pid
        String type

String line1

static constraints = {
             pid		nullable: false
    	 type		blank: false
    	 line1		blank: false
        }

static mapping = {
             table		"LEGACY_ADDRESS_VW"
    	 cache	'read-only'

id		composite: ['pid', 'type']
    	 version	false

columns{
    	     pid	column: 'table_pid'
    	     type	column: 'table_atyp_code'
    	     line1	column: 'table_street_line1'
    	}
    }
    My app compiles but when I try to access Applicant?.addresses I get the following GSP error:
    Error 500: Error processing GroovyPageView: could not initialize a collection: [my.domain.Applicant.addresses#321303]
    Servlet: grails
    URI: /Project/grails/applicant/worklist.dispatch
    Exception Message: ORA-00972: identifier is too long
    This leads me to believe that GORM is trying to create something like LEGACY_APPLICANT_VW_LEGACY_ADDRESS_VW as the join and Oracle is throwing an exception because it only allows 30 characters.