Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accessing a list of params in controller

Hello together,

Im very new to grails (1.3.7) so please be patient :-)

I have a gsp where I have various checkboxes. A user can click on them and then send his answer to a controller. The controller is receiving this request correctly.

My problem is, that, for working with what the user chose, I have to check every parameter - to see if this checkbox was really checked. Thats really cumbersome and doesnt work very well, because the page displaying the checkboxes is dynamic - so the checkboxes which can be clicked are dynamic too. In my controller I dont know for which params I have to check then.

Is there any possibility to receive a list of all checkboxes (or better: all checked checkboxes) in my controller? I researched but didnt find an answer!

Thanks for answering! :-)

Ive got the answer:

Code:
    params.name.each{i->
                System.out.println(i);
    }

really very easy

Comment

What does your GSP form look like? Detecting a checkbox on the server side is tricky and would make your code heavily dependent on implementation detail. I recommend you either use a naming convention for your checkbox tags and use that to distinguish between them:

Code:
      for (p in params) {
          // If parameter name begins with 'checkBox', it's a checkbox field.
          if (p.key.startsWith("checkBox")) {
          }
      }
      Alternatively, add a hidden input field for each checkbox whose value contains the name of the checkbox element.

Comment

thanks for your answer! why do you think that my solution is not good? I mean, I only get the checkboxes who were checked/clicked from the user, I dont think thats a bad idea? thank you :-)

Comment

What does your GSP look like?

Comment

Snippet:

Code:
              <g:form action="startSimu" controller="lpicSimulator">