Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help with linkedin oauth

Hello everyone,
    I am new to grails as well as this forum. If i have posted in the wrong spot, please excuse me. I am working on creating a grails project that works with oauth plugin (i am using SpringSource as my development environment) to connect to linkedin profile. i have a controller that connects and captures the data (using REST). Everything seems to work fine. the controller uses this:

Code:
       def response = oauthService.accessResource(
                    apiUrl, 'linkedin', [key:session.oauthToken.key, secret:session.oauthToken.secret], 'GET')
    and returns an xml stream similar to this:
    HTML Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
    <person>
      <id>some string</id>
      <first-name>MyFirstName</first-name>
      <last-name>MyLastName</last-name>
    </person>
    my question is this: How do i parse the response variable? for instance, what if i want to pick out the first-name and do something with it? My next question would be: How do i deal with repeating data, but I will see how this one goes.

Thank you
    jason

I would use XmlSlurper. For example, assuming that 'response' is an input stream:

Code:
    def data = new XmlSlurper().parse(response)
    def firstName = data.'first-name'.text()
    See the Groovy documentation for more info on XmlSlurper. And one quick note: controllers have a property called 'response' injected into them (it's the HttpServletResponse) so I recommend using a different local variable name.

Comment

re:

thank you for your response. I've been looking at using XmlSlurper but i'm getting errors when i try to parse the data. if your provided example:

Code:
      def data = new XmlSlurper().parse(response)
      def firstName = data.'first-name'.text()
      print (firstName)