Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie - moving from EJB to Spring

Hi,

I'm an EJB programmer, and I'm starting to look at Spring for the first time, I have a copy of Spring in Action, but ... I'm getting stuck on something simple. Can anyone help me?

I have a J2SE programme, a couple of beans, it loads Spring and the XML file does the injection of dependency. All fine as far as it goes.

But when it comes to J2EE, I'm a bit lost.

In a normal EJB application, you have an interface, implemented as a stateless session bean, which acts as the "entry point" to the middle tier. You might stick @WebService on this session bean, to make it a webservice; or you might call it using the remote interface from some J2SE or Struts client (presuming you don't have your presentation layer in the same EAR as the middle tier).

But in Spring ... what do you do? How does your client (not in the same WAR) call the middle tier? What is the normal way to provide an interface to the middle tier in Spring? (I may be confusing myself here, so bear with me!)

Developing this a little further; the reason you have EJBs in a J2EE application is that the EJB takes a little while to start up. So rather than make the client wait while you do this, you get the EJB container to start up a pool of these things offline, and you just grab a handle to an existing bean when your client request comes in.

What is the equivalent in Spring? Do you really start a new Spring IoC container every time an HTTP request comes in?

Thanks!

Roger

I suggest reading the book further before asking the questions, the book also answers them, as well as the spring reference guide.

You let the ContextLoaderListener load the applicationcontext (once!) and refer from your controller/actions to the beans loaded by that context. So NO you don't (re)load the application, unless you want to run out of resources.

Comment

Originally posted by Marten Deinum View Post