Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for simple EJB remote client example

Hi,

I'm new to spring and I am looking for an end to end example of how to perform a lookup on an existing remote EJB.

Thanks

J

18.2. Accessing EJBs

Comment

I've gone over that document several time. There are a few things missing from it.
      1. How to enter a remote host and port
      2. How to get an instance to the EJB in your code (example code)
      3. How to specify a particular vendor, say Websphere or Weblogic
      4. An example of what kind of code needs to go into the interface of MyComponent
      5. How to make a call to an EJB method that requires parameters

These may seem like simple enough requests that don't require to be documented, but someone who is completely new to Spring will have a hard time finding this info.

Thanks

J

Comment

Originally posted by shampoo View Post
        I've gone over that document several time. There are a few things missing from it.
        1. How to enter a remote host and port
        2. How to get an instance to the EJB in your code (example code)
        3. How to specify a particular vendor, say Websphere or Weblogic
        4. An example of what kind of code needs to go into the interface of MyComponent
        5. How to make a call to an EJB method that requires parameters

These may seem like simple enough requests that don't require to be documented, but someone who is completely new to Spring will have a hard time finding this info.

Thanks

J
        Spring doesn't introduce any magic to the EJB client. It just wraps boilerplate stuff - 18.2.1. Concepts
        To invoke a method on a local or remote stateless session bean, client code must normally perform a JNDI lookup to obtain the (local or remote) EJB Home object, then use a 'create' method call on that object to obtain the actual (local or remote) EJB object. One or more methods are then invoked on the EJB.