Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Batch procedures using Spring ?

Hi,

I am new to Spring, but I am very much charmed by its design. What I would like to do is test a migration of an existing (but not too good performing) j2ee application on JBoss to something more lightweight.
    The application works like this :
    - a session bean ('decoder') calls two entity beans to read data, decode it and store it in another table
    - the 'startprocess' method on the 'decode' bean is called by a message-driven bean which listens to a queue
    - the message to this queue is sent by our Flux scheduler

For several reasons, I would like to implement something like this using Spring.
    First of all, do you think this is something suitable for Spring or should I simply make a java class using jdbc and called directly by Flux ?
    Second, would it be worthwhile to skip the jdbc and use Spring for the database part, but still in a simple java class ?
    Third, is it possbile to use Spring for the logic, put it in a web container and call it I don't know how, from the outside ?
    Fourth, can I integrate JMS messaging somewhere ?

Sorry for all these questions, but the main thing is that I would like to know how Spring would perform in non-web applications.

thanks,

Henk

Henk,

Spring can be used to build pretty much any application you want, so you can certainly move this application to a Spring-based environment.

I'll try to answer your questions as best I can:

1. Yes this is certainly suitable for Spring. There is nothing stopping you creating a simple JDBC-based class and calling that directly - if that is what you want to do. Without being fully aware of your requirements I can't really comment on the best approach, you shoud ask yourself whether that architecture meets your requirements or whether it is a step back from where you are now.