Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring with JBoss with no EJB's - advice needed

Hi,

I was happily setting up our new wep-app architecture with Tomcat, Spring and Hibernate - using 3 tiers.

It has now been suggested that we move to use JBoss or similar, and utilize the strengths of an application server.

I am completely new to J2EE (apart from above), and am struggling to see how it all fits together ie Spring and JBoss. We would like to avoid EJB's if possible.

Would really appreciate it if anyone can offer any advice or experience, please, on how best to set things up, what parts of the app server to utilize, how transactions will work etc..

Many thanks,

David

I'm using Jboss for web applications without EJB's. Also relatively new to J2EE, and probably not using all the facilities of the appserver that might be useful.

To start with, your app should pretty much transfer without any changes. Possibly just a few tweaks to the deployment descriptors.

A couple of things in JBoss (beyond the servlet container) that I do use is setting up datasources, and access them in spring using JndiObjectFactoryBean; and using JBoss to run a scheduled task with a SAR (service archive).

You've also got JTA if you need distributed transactions, JMS if you want messaging, etc. etc. I don't currently use either of those.

If you need any further help with JBoss config on the bits I'm familiar with, I'll be happy to help.

Comment

It has now been suggested that we move to use JBoss or similar, and utilize the strengths of an application server.
      This is mostly a scentence keeping me alarmed. What me bug is the 'use JBoss or similar' and 'utilize the strengths'. A application server is quite a time-eater. Many things offered by JBoss may be also utilized using Tomcat and it seams that mostly people just use an application-server because its a real J2EE thing.

So what is it, you are actually trying to do?

Comment