Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Using Spring to run an enterprise messaging application vs WebLogic Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Spring to run an enterprise messaging application vs WebLogic

Hi-

I'm new to Spring and a novice at understanding the concepts of application servers and j2ee, so please bear with me if i screw up some concepts.

A little background:

My company currently uses WebLogic to run a messaging interface/app that acts as the middleware between an in-house thick client and a vendor busienss engine. The app also has data source connections to an oracle db.

[thick client] <--jms--> [ Our WebLogic app ] <--jms--> [vendor engine]
    [oracle DB] <-WL DB SOURCE->
    -Our Weblogic app runs on 2 sun servers as a single cluster for failover support and load balancing.
    -The application provides asynchronous service to the thick client (stateless is the term i think).
    -The only ejb we use are message driven beans, nothing else.
    - We use tangosol caching to lookup data quickly for optimization purposes
    - we don't use servlets or other stuff related to web dev

Our app does things like translate the data that the thick client sends into comprehensible data for the vendor engine and also does certain business logic that's customized for our needs to feed into the engine.

We use a custom proprietary framework written in java, which uses XML to configure objects, like how certain requests/replies are handled.

Question:

We are evaluating ways to save money on licensing by going away from Weblogic. I understand this would involve rewriting our code to fit with the new framework/app server.