X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lost with Validation

Hi, I'm new to spring. I consider using parts of spring for a eclipse RCP based application I'm currently developing. I'm especially interested in a validation solution for my business obects. Straight forward I read the documentation and found:
    http://static.springframework.org/sp...alidation.html
    But sorry, where's the point? this document does not discuss the validation in depth. After reading I have no idea about how validation with spring can look like. This chapter discusses more or less only some facts about JavaBeans.

So can please someone clarify on:

- What's the relationship of Spring's validation capabilities and commons validator?
    - Is spring's standard validation (not Rich Client) even suitable for a Rich Client app or only related to web apps?
    - What is Spring's validation made for? Validating data based on beans or....?

Thanks

...But sorry, where's the point?
    This validation is type validation only. It is used for binding strings (e.g. from web requests or poperties file) to complex types.

Comment

What's the relationship of Spring's validation capabilities and commons validator?
      Not much. There is integration for Commons Validator at Spring Modules.

Is spring's standard validation (not Rich Client) even suitable for a Rich Client app or only related to web apps?
      The type validation is mainly for web apps, as the conversion from string to complex objects is required.

What is Spring's validation made for? Validating data based on beans or....?
      As explained above, type validation is for converting from String to complex types. Spring allows for business validation via a Validator interface.

Comment

Hi katentim, thanks for clarification on this topic!

What I'm now interested in is: Is there any best practice to validate my domain objects with Springs functionality?