X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• planning major migration to spring

Before I get into the details let me give you some background. I have no real experience with spring/hibernate whatsoever, I am mostly done reading Rod Johnson's J2EE Development without EJB. I ordered Pro Spring and have the rod johnsons new book on backorder. I have been reading docs on this website and the hibernate website. I have been coding java for a long time but have somehow delightfully managed to completely avoid ejb. Many moons ago I did some ejb examples and read through the spec and then realized i wanted to avoid it at all cost. And then reconfirmed that when the 2.0 spec came out.
    However, because I have not done ejb I am struggling to catch up with some of the lingo and design patterns. It seems that one very valuable thing about working in EJB, which I wish I had now, is it got programmers on the same page in terms of design patterns and common implementations.

So anyways, I am planning to migrate a large application to hibernate spring. The application now has a Swing front end that operates on monolithic data objects. There is a networked database involved which currently is wide open on the network and is connected to directly through jdbc. I plan to go to spring on jetty or tomcat with http invokers to hit the networked db. Additionally, this system has a very complex user, role/data groups security system that I am really excited to hopefully make less complex by implementing the Acegi Security or some kind of AOP security.

To make a long story short I already did one migration on this code, it was originally spaghetti code with sql and business logic scattered throughout the swing code. I migrated to what i call monolithic data objects. They contain the basic CRUD implementation along with static searching/finder methods and all the object specific business logic code.