Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Planning web portal - new to Spring

Hello Spring users,

I am currently planning a web portal and would like to use Spring as a server side framework, but have never used it before. Although I have several years of experience in medium and large scale web development, most of it has been on the LAMP stack. For this project I would like to switch to a java-based environment since I think java is better suited to keep a large code base coherent.

The planned portal system consists of these main aspects:
    • complex content management (articles and media)
      • rights management for most items (pages, media, groups)
      • upload and editing
      • i18n
    • user participation (comments, PMs, content upload)
    • eventual seamless forum integration (I don't want to write one myself)
    By reading articles and hearsay together with my experience and resources I chose the following core components for my architecture:
    • Linux as operating system
    • Apache Tomcat as web server
    • Spring as server side framework
    • Google Web Toolkit as client side framework
    As you see there is no specific data base system included, I am not yet sure what to use but tending toward using MySQL because I have worked with it before.

My questions to you are now:

Do these combinations make sense to you?
    Do you have experince with similar projects?
    Do you know good tutorials and/or examples, tips&tricks for Spring in general or Spring related to one of my goals?
    Which parts of Spring should I use, and for what part of the portal?

Is there an existing (and good) user/rights mangement system for Spring (as used for websites)?
    I am not yet too familiar with the integration of java objects with DBMS'. For instance, I'm worried about the lookup and search performance. Are there places where I can read more about it?