X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flex/Spring Best Practices

I am a previous J2EE developer who has been doing a lot of coding for Flex (1.5) using Tomcat as a web app container. In the past we have been using servlets with HTTP calls from Flex and passing XML back and forth. Some of my co-workers were using remote objects and we have recently moved to communicating back and forth using Flex’s remote object calls.

We are now looking at (read implementing a project) using Spring/Ibatis. Coming from absolute zero Spring experience I have been working on understanding it and, more importantly, how to use it properly. I have an implementation that is functioning but I have doubts about whether I am using “good practices”. One of my main struggles is that although there are examples of using Flex with Spring, these are simple cases that do not explain good “rules of thumb” of how to use Spring in the context of having Flex as the front end.

I have some specific questions whose answers will probably lead to further discussion.

1) If I have “business logic” in my application what is the best way for one piece of business logic call another piece of business logic in Spring?

In my application I have a service that manipulates files (FileService.java). One thing it does is read information from a file on the server and will later load the information into a database. I have another service, Mapping Service, that has methods that take information on how the data from the file will be read into the database. I want the mapping service to call methods on the file service to perform certain functions.

Each service is a Spring Bean that is defined in the application.xml file. The mapping service has a property that is a reference to the file service. In a method of the mapping service I simply call:

mappingForm.doStuffToFile();

Since, Spring injects the mappingForm object this works.