Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring vs. I

Hi guys,
    Reading & researching about spring framework I realized that the IoC concept is GREAT, but beside that, there is a lot of work & effort that you have to put into xml config files to declare bean structures, each behavior exposed, properties, transactions, security, etc.

then, I should choose between pay the price mixing some logic with tier communication or implement IoC concept maintaining large xml files.

why large ?
    To describe you my business, we have like 500 tables in the oracle with 300 business logic objs and you can do the multiplication of the behaviors exposed.
    now, If I have to expose those biz logic I will need buy 100 HD RAID to hold the config/s file of spring (being exaggerated)

Am I correct about the spring effort ?
    I'm just a newbie in spring, that's why I can have a wrong idea about spring implementation.

Thank you.

Rodrigo

I think there are a million and one articles out there that will tell you why you should use spring. I have to say the configuration requirements have never put me off using spring.

The configuration has to be done anyway either in code or XML. 2.0 has introduced lots of XML short cuts and there are also numerous other ways of cutting down the configuration. (annotations, auto wiring, inner beans etc...)

I've seen have seen systems using hundreds of tables, domain objects and services. I can honestly say that Spring didn't make the situation any more complicated. It reduced the complexity and enabled us to remove in-house rolled services.

When I write a new system and if Spring is appropriate, (and given its modular nature, lots of times it is,) I won't be worrying about the size of the configuration I'll be worrying about my customers bizarre requirements.

Comment

Originally posted by rasensio View Post
      Hi guys,